Breaking News

G7 Gender Equality Summit 2019

G7 (The group of seven)- It is a group consisting of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United state. These countries, with the seven largest IMF-described advanced economies in the world, represent 58% of the global net wealth.

The 45th G7 summit will be held on August 25-27, 2019, in Biarritz, Nouvellle-Aquitaine, Frace. In March 2014, the G7 declare that meaningful discussion was currently not possible with Russia in the context of G8. since then, the meeting has continued within the G7 process.

But we are focused on gender equality.

Also, Emma Watson  (28-year-old) attends the first G7 meeting on gender equality advisory council on Tuesday, 19 Feb 2019
Watson has long been involved with UN women's HeforShe programme, which is working for global gender equality.

In 2016, She spoke about her hopes for women taking up a more political leadership role in the years ahead.@emmawatson

Why Global Citizen Should Care

Achieving gender equality is key to ending poverty by 2030. The G7 Advisory Committee is working to fight sexual violence, and promote girls education. 

Actress and humanitarian Emma Watson and Nobel Price winners Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad joined key governmental figures, including Frace's Gender equality minister  Marlen Schiappa, to brainstorm how leading nations can reduce violence and discrimination against women.

France is attempting to lead the way and allocated $136 million in funds to women's rights movements internationally, with an emphasis on developing countries.

G7 France

The WHO (World Health Organisation)  estimates 35% of women have experienced physical or sexual intimate partner violence or sexual violence or by non-partner at the same point in their lives. There are 132 million girls worldwide out of school, and girls are 1,5 times more likely to be excluded from primary school than boys -- making it difficult to compete in the worn workforce.

1 comment: